FOOD COMBINING

Blog #4

After you eat a meal, do you feel bloated and uncomfortable?  I used to feel like that all of the time until I found out that I was mis-combining my foods.  What happens is when you eat a protein with a carbohydrate, the carb digests quickly and the protein will digest much slower.  When you eat proteins (meat, poultry, cheese, fish, eggs, milk, nuts) they produce acid juices for their digestion.  When you have carbs like bread, pasta, cereals, flour, biscuits, etc. and starchy vegetables such as potatoes, yams and sweet corn, they digest quickly and require different enzymes to proteins.

When you eat them together, the competing enzymes and digestive juices will fight and neutralize each other.  The result is that food doesn’t get digested properly and rots inside the gut, causing gas, bloating, heartburn, stomach pains, indigestion and drained energy.  When I miscombined, I had all of these symptoms.  Now, I just have to work on the over eating!

Salads, non-starchy vegetables, roots, seeds, herbs, spices, these can be combined with the protein group or with the carb group.  Fruit should be eaten on it’s own, it digests at the fastest rate.

There should be 4 groups:

Group 1 Proteins – Cheese, Eggs, Nuts, Fish, Meat, Milk, Poultry, Shellfish, Soybeans, tofu, and Yogurt.

Group 2 – Carbohydrates – Grains, including oats, pasta, rice, rye, millet, grain products, cookies, bread, cakes, crackers and pastry, honey, maple syrup, potatoes and starchy vegetables, sugar and sweets.

Group 3 – Non-Starchy Vegetables – Salads and fresh herbs, seeds, butter, cream, spreading fats like Olive oil (cold pressed), Herbs, spices and seasonings.

Group 4 – All Fruit

FOOD COMBINING CHART

BAD

Grain with dairy or meat = Gas

Fruit with veggies = Gas

Fruit with meats = Gas

Fruit with grain or dairy = Gas

GOOD

Fruit by itself = Proper digestion

Grain with vegetables = no gas

Pasta with vegetables = no gas

Beans with vegetables = no gas

Fish or meat with vegetables = no gas

Pulses/beans and grains = no gas

*Beans have a mixture of starch and protein which may seem to be a problem, but starch is dominant in most beans with the exception of soy and navy beans.  You can combine most beans with grains as well as salads and veggies.

Fruit must always be eaten on it’s own, especially on an empty stomach.  If not on an empty stomach, then at least 30 minutes away from other food groups.  If you eat fruit after a meal, it just gets stuck behind all of the other food that takes longer to digest, so it will ferment in the gut.  Thats when you can expect the bloating, gas, and indigestion.

*Never mix melons with other fruits, they digest the fastest!

Leave 2 hours after a carbohydrate meal before eating protein.  Leave 3 hours after a protein meal before eating carbs.  Protein takes 4 hours to reach the bowel, and carbs take 2 hours from mouth to bowel.

I have been eating like this for about 5 years and it was difficult.  It takes time and practice, it is easy to slip up.  But when you do, you will feel better!

When food combining is done properly, you will:

*Help your body to burn fat more efficiently

*Ensure the maximum absorption of nutirents, enzymes and proteins

*Prevent burping, bloating, gas and indigestion

*Generally correct or prevent most issues connected with obesity

When you combine everything, you will:

*Make complete digestion impossible

*Upset digestive enzymes

*Prevent nutrient uptake

*Risk a host of ills, including bloating, heartburn, indigestion, malabsorption, constipation, cramps, irritable bowl syndrome, and gas.

When you combine the right foods together, it gives your body a chance to break down the food effectively.  When you miscombine, your body is always working hard digesting.  A great perk that comes along with good food combining is that when the body is not over worked, it allows the body to burn fat efficiently.  When your body holds on to undigested food, it gets turned into fat balls of toxins and celluite.  We all know how hard it is to get rid of  pesky celluite!

I went through it, I always wandered why I had stomach pain, heart burn, and bloating after eating.  After I stopped mis-combining the pain went away.

Some information has been taken from the book “You Are What You Eat” By, Dr. Gillian McKeith

“Life is too short to waste it eating junk, feed it right and your body will treat you right”

EAT RIGHT FOR YOUR LIFE,

Carol

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Crooks
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 20:06:22

    Hi Carol! I like your blog! Good information. This latest one on food combining is a lot to think about. I have heard of this before but never tried it. Guess I should! Need to study all the details more to make sure I have it straight. I miss seeing you! Hope to see you next week possibly!

    Reply

  2. Libby Miller
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 20:06:11

    Hey Carol! I love this post! I really struggle with bloating and gas (much to my family’s heartache lol!) The combining of food makes so much sense! I have to say, thinking about food rotting in my gut is going to propel me to make a change in this process (ewwww!). I can’t wait to hear more from your blog!

    Reply

  3. Julie Crooks
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 19:51:33

    So….eating fruit and yogurt together – not a good idea?
    Cheese and whole-grain gluten free crackers together?
    Peanut butter with whole grain crackers?
    Peanut butter on apple slices? I am talking about natural p.butter, by the way.
    Am i asking too many questions? Haha.
    These are common snacks for me.

    Reply

    • Carol Knizek
      May 04, 2011 @ 19:43:54

      Hey Julie,

      I know that I just sent you an e-mail, but I am going to answer your question on here so other people can see my answer. I really think that eating fruit and yogurt together may be okay. Eating the peanut butter and crackers are a problem because you are mixing a protein with a starch. I know that fruit should be eaten alone, but if it does not hurt your stomach then it is okay and you are not eating a huge amount of PB with the fruit. Cheese and crackers should be fine too, just see how you feel after eating it. I eat this way because I have low acid in my stomach to break down the food. Hope that this answers your questions.

      Thanks,
      Carol

      Reply

Leave a Reply

